Whew – taxes are done, and not a minute too soon. Finally blog-posting does not = procrastination.

Today I introduce you to my favorite FO (Finished Object – my goal is define each term when I use it for the first time here) at this stage of my knitting career. It was also the project that’s taken me the longest, but like the title says, it’s a long cardigan.

Let me just say that it took me forever to find just what I wanted for a cardigan, or at least my first cardigan. This is not surprising considering that it often takes me yonks to make a decision.

I’m tall, and part of what I love about knitting is that I can custom-make the length of sleeves (to accommodate my monkey arms) and also the torso.  I have a lot of things in my closet that inconveniently hit just above my waist instead of at or below like they would on anyone else (I can’t help myself when it’s so cute hanging on the rack – I want to buy clothes in stores like other girls!).  In this case, I figured I might as well take the long idea and run with it, just because I could.

I didn’t expect to be so picky (I never do) – I searched high and low before I found what I wanted.  I definitely bookmarked a few favorites that I knew I’d like to make later, including several with more detail – nice cabling or other patterns – but for this one I found myself craving simple lines, a go-to cardigan that achieved “fashionable” as opposed to “frumpy”, as is often the concern with cardigans.  On the other hand, I wanted to actually be able to wear this puppy regularly, like to pull on at work when I’m chilly, so I didn’t want to land at too high-fashion.  If it turned out that noteworthy, people would start saying, “Is it just me, or does she wear that same sweater every day?”.  I needed it to be classic-looking, and easily blendable with the varying color palette of different outfits.

You with me on this?

Before I even began searching for the perfect cardigan pattern, I admit I had my mind already set on the color.  I went to the black end of the spectrum and chose a dark charcoal gray (a.k.a. a shade of black).  Not surprising, if I give you a little history.  Black is a former flame of mine, the kind that still gives me butterflies when I think about those heady days.  My time living in New York and London left me with quite a penchant for wearing all black, all the time, a practice I thoroughly enjoyed and didn’t trouble to deny it.  I’d still be in that camp if it weren’t for:

  1. My family telling me to lighten up already with the black. Enoughget some color in that wardrobe, sister.
  2. Everyone in my new West Coast workplace telling me I was too “East Coast”.  Loosen up, you’re scaring the natives with that look.

No matter what they say, I really like the power suits and French twists that were frequently associated with the all-black attire, but alas, I have attempted to ease up on all accounts.  I really try to save the black for my now infrequent nights out on the town, when I really must be allowed to feel city-fabulous.  I’ve also invested in two pairs of (long length) khaki cords that I occasionally wear on Fridays (impressive, right?); and, I’ve actually gone to job interviews with my hair down (gasp!) instead of tied up into a formal twist.  Hey, it’s progress.

But I digress!  The point is – I do make an effort to pull in more color to my repertoire, and knitting’s a big part of that, so it’s a good thing I’m addicted to it.  True – but actually, the point is this:  although I do make that effort, it didn’t extend to this project.  Right.

I landed on the Patons pattern Long Fitted Cardigan from the SWS pattern book, “The Look”.  It’s kind of an obscure pattern; I don’t know how I Googled my way to it.  I saw the cover picture and knew that was the one, so I picked the pattern booklet up on eBay.  I really liked the long straight lines and no-nonsense yet sexy appeal.  Largely stockinette, but that contributed to my classic, not-too-fussy goal.  I also liked the bling/accessories the model was wearing, so maybe, sadly, I was swayed by that as well.

I chose Dale of Norway (Dalegarn) Free Style as the yarn for this project.  Don’t ask me why, as this was another obscure choice – I think I was being super-conservative with the gauge on substituting exactly, and this was a spot-on match for SWS.  I booted the SWS yarn as suggested for a couple of reasons.  The online reviews seemed positive and it was very affordable, but in the end I was focused on a) not using toocheap a yarn for a project I would spend a lot of time on and hope to wear quite a lot, b) sticking with a superwash wool for the supposed durability (although now that it’s done, I can’t imagine ever putting my baby in the washer).

Plus, it didn’t come in black.  

Although I liked the look of the pattern with the variegated color of several of the SWS colorways, I wanted to avoid ending up with Joseph’s Technicolor Dreamcoat, which on a tall bird like me can be a bit hard to pull off.

That said – VERY straightforward pattern and piecing.  I liked the yarn surprisingly well, and although I’ve been wearing it frequently for well over a year now, it’s held up very well (few pills of course, but a couple of sweater shavings have kept it in good condition).  I avoided selecting too soft of a yarn in order to achieve this durability, and I’m pleased with the results.  It’s wonderfully warm, as wool tends to be, and holds its shape quite well.  It’s a tad scratchy, but I’m always wearing something under it.  Call me crazy, but I like the tiny amount of scratchy – feels suitably authentic in the way a wooly jumper should.  I know…I’m weird.

Overall, I’m delighted with what my little hands turned out.  I’ve kept the pattern readily accessible (as opposed to lost amongst my mostly scattered and unorganized other patterns and books and yarn and needles – save me, Ravelry) in case I get a wild hair to make one in the future of the Technicolor Dreamcoat variety.

Kidding. 

If I make another one, it’ll definitely be in another shade of black.  ;)